PDA

View Full Version : A timely email ...

Thumper
12-05-2016, 10:45 AM
... but a day or two late.

I got into an argument ... errr, I mean DISCUSSION with a guy who was standing in line at an estate sale Friday morning. I guess I started it in a way because I noticed he had a Hillary bumper sticker on his car. I made a wise-crack and asked him why he wasn't embarrassed to be still driving around with that thing on his car. (BTW, I know the guy pretty well as he's a regular, so we weren't really strangers) Well, the "discussion" turned to a popular vote vs. Electoral College type of argument. Granted, a few elections back, I was also confused about WHY we need the Electoral College as it just didn't seem right to me that a candidate could get more of the popular vote, but still lose the election. That's when I studied up a bit and pretty much learned that it "feels" wrong in a way, but is actually a good system.

Well, I just received an email from my old motorcycle racing partner in California and I wish I'd had it with me on Friday as it says what I wanted to say, but didn't really know how to say it convincingly. Granted, I haven't had time to check the accuracy of these email statements (other than the total counties won .. and it is correct), so it's possible there is a bit of "fudging" ... but overall it appears to be pretty accurate. The main point is, I think it's a pretty good explanation of the way the system works, why it's needed and it's importance.

Importance of Electoral College

This, without a doubt, describes exactly what the importance of the Electoral College is all about.........and why it is needed.

There are 3,141 counties in the United States .
Trump won 3,084 of them.
Clinton won 57.

There are 62 counties in New York State .
Trump won 46 of them.
Clinton won 16.

Clinton won the popular vote by approximately 1.5 million votes.