PDA

View Full Version : Wow! These things are the tits!

Thumper
10-01-2019, 02:33 PM
I just returned from the VA where they set me up with my new hearing aids. Dang! I never realized how much I was missing. I can hear EVERYTHING now! The weird thing is, I can hear stuff you'd never think of hearing. Example, if I run my fingers through my hair (what little there is of it), it sounds like I'm raking leaves! I also never had a clue how noisy PAPER is ... wad up a piece of paper and it sounds like you're smashing a tin can. I hear my chair squeak when I move ... but never even realized it had a squeak before. I'm still learning and it'll take some getting used to. Just typing on this keyboard sounds like I'm smacking it with a hammer.

And the technology in these things? Wow! I can totally control everything about them with an app. on my iPhone. Volume, balance, pitch (treble, base and mid-range). I have filters. After the appointment, Lynn and I went to lunch and the place was extremely noisy. I picked up my phone, hit "restaurant setting" and all the peripheral noise was muted and it was just pleasant conversation with Lynn. There are enough settings and adjustments on these things, I could play with them for a year and not test everything. No batteries to fool with, they're rechargeable

Another cool thing is, they're on Bluetooth, so anything that comes through my iPhone, comes to my ears. Music, phone conversations, you name it ... it'll go directly through the hearing aids.

They're not the hearing aids of yesterday, you can't even tell I'm wearing them. There is a very small receiver behind each ear, but if I'm wearing glasses, they just look like part of the glasses. One problem I may have is forgetting I have them on as I can't even feel them. I'm kind'a sorry I waited so long to get them TBH. These suckers run $6000 frigging bucks (thank you VA) and are even covered if I break them or lose them (free replacement).