PDA

View Full Version : Just for the heck of it.....

Big Muddy
12-12-2019, 03:13 PM
Wifey called me on her way home from town, last night, and said she was gonna pick up some Burger King burgers for supper.....sorta halfway joking, I told her to get me one of those new Whopper veggie burgers, they've been advertising every 30 seconds on tv.
Well, she bought me one home, and I'll tell ya what, it was day'um good!!!.....honestly, I couldn't tell the difference from a real burger.....the taste, consistency, and palatability were all really great.

While I was at MS State in the late '60s, I worked for one of the agri. professors in the plant science area, and he was working on a soybean burger.....I would recruit students for him, who would come in to blind taste test his soy burgers.....the results were nearly uniform, after each taste-testing....."burgers look and smell great, but tastes like crap" .....I never heard any more about them, after I graduated, but evidently someone improved the taste of them.

Arty
12-12-2019, 05:39 PM
Don’t they have more fat and calories than the real version?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Big Muddy
12-12-2019, 05:50 PM
No idea, Arty, I just ate it on a whim, and was pleasantly surprised.

You got me curious, so here's what I found:

Burger King VEGGIE Burger w/o cheese---390 calories. Most of those calories come from fat (38%)

Burger King WHOPPER w/o Cheese---660 calories. Most of those calories come from fat (54%)

Thumper
12-12-2019, 06:03 PM
My problem with them is .... they cost more than the BEEF version. That nixed it for me as I refused to pay more for a fake burger just to do a taste test.

Big Muddy
12-12-2019, 06:11 PM
Ha, yep, it costs about a dollar more.....what's a buck to a world traveler and a KFC connoisseur??? ;)

Thumper
12-12-2019, 06:19 PM