PDA

View Full Version : Question

DeputyDog
06-08-2020, 12:37 PM
Can anyone explain to me how defunding police departments will make them better and more professional?

The mayors in NY and LA have already said that they will take large amounts of funding away from their respective police departments and use it towards social programs.

The mayor in LA has said he will take $150 million directly from LAPD’s budget. The NYC mayor hasn’t specified an amount but there have been class for as much as $50 million and the cancellation of the next NYPD academy class.

In addition to this the city council in Minneapolis has stated that they intend to completely disband the Minneapolis PD and replace it with community based public safety programs.

It’s no wonder that police departments are having a hard time filling open positions. I’ve been doing this for 30 years this month and I’m so glad to be near the end of my career rather than the beginning.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hombre
06-08-2020, 01:11 PM
It makes no sense whatsoever. If you're a police Chief wouldn't you have to look at where funds were redirected and not patrol those areas? I think if they do, and I don't think they will, completely defund in MPLS it will turn into a "be careful what you wish for" really quickly.

Thumper
06-08-2020, 01:48 PM
I asked Lynn the same question this morning! (Actually, I was talking to myself, but she’s forced to listen to my rants and I don’t really expect an answer.) I’ve never heard so much b/s in my life and for the life of me, I don’t understand a bit of it. Just another example of Liberal thinking I suppose. It’s asinine.

johnboy
06-08-2020, 02:03 PM