PDA

View Full Version : Where did the last 50 years go ???

jb
12-12-2020, 04:05 PM
50 years ago next week I graduated from college. 26 years old, married 2 1/2 years, 3 month old child, just finished my Student Teaching, living in a 12x50 mobile home, dead ass broke and no teaching jobs for another 8 months.
Food stamps and loans from my mother to pay the rent and utilities, literally 0 dollars anywhere. I sold my college parking permit for $10 so I could buy my wife a Christmas present.
Things were both good and terrible at the same time.
Two days latter I got a call from an Architect I had worked part time for a year earlier, he gave my name to a big time company that was just starting up and needed an experience draftsman/designer. Made the call and was hired on the spot for $5 /hour. That was the most money I'd ever made. I started immediately and got my first pay check 5 days later.
We were in tall cotton, paid my mother back, even went out to dinner. That fall I got my first teaching job, not a big raise from what I was making, but not bad either for 9 months of work that gave me the summer off to work construction.
Since then I've (we've) never been fired, laid-off or looking for work, 31 years, two employer's, 3 different houses in only two locations. No health issues and three great sons, 3 beautiful DIL's and 8 grand kids.
Some times you need to go through hard times to realize just how good you have it.
That's it, just nice to be able to post something like this, not bragging, just saying, sometimes you take the right path as you walk through life.

BarryBobPosthole
12-12-2020, 04:36 PM
And the reward for living the life you have, is the life you have!

You’re a good soul, Mr Bubba.

BKB

Thumper
12-13-2020, 09:07 AM