PDA

View Full Version : Ok, listen up you bunch'a reprobates!

Thumper
05-11-2021, 10:42 AM
We had the long discussion previously and I "think" the majority of us decided we did NOT want to switch this site over to Facebook. Correct me if I'm wrong.

After elebenty-bazillion hours of back & forth b/s on the phone, talking to half the employees at Go-Daddy, plus hours of research and phone time with Larke's beautiful widow, I FINALLY got all of our site info updated and all payment obligations changed over to my trusty AmEx card. (a tough feat with no passwords, PIN codes, etc) I now have the site charges set up for auto-renewal, so there's no risk of unintentionally falling behind and losing the domain. It appears we have two domain names. I don't know why, because I'm not a techie, but I "believe" I remember something about keeping the old domain from the previous site (goodhunting.com), but having to start a new domain for Go-Daddy (goodhunting.info). I may be wrong as there was some sort of agreement between Gary Carty (Archer - previous owner) and Larke (Captain) that Larke would own the domain, but if Gary ever wanted it back, he had the option to take it over. (I assume that would be the goodhunting.com domain?) When I get a chance, I'll contact Gary and see if he can clarify all of that. I don't know if we could not transfer the .com over to Go Daddy, or if we just wanted to guarantee having the .info domain in case of a "hostile takeover" or sumpin'. (Hey, like I said, I'm no techie and don't have a clue how this all works ???) I do know that if any of the old crew checks in by entering our original domain, goodhunting.com, into their browser, it will automatically point them to goodhunting.info (our Go Daddy domain). If my technical terms are gobbledygook to youse techie type dufes, you can bite me. I'm doing the best I can here. ;)