PDA

View Full Version : Well, that's kind'a cool!

Thumper
06-17-2021, 07:14 AM
We went on our first "shake-down" cruise in the motorhome a couple weeks ago, returned home and it's been in sitting in the driveway since we got back. As we exited the coach, I flipped off the main cabin electrical switch. I'm still learning how this beast works and I "thought" that switch shut off ALL house power. Well, yesterday, I went inside to get something and when I walked past the (residential-sized) refrigerator/freezer, I noticed it was still running and cold. I also found a light on in the rear bathroom. ARRRGGGHHH! I figured the house batteries HAD to be pretty dead by now and checked the readout panel. Everything is fully charged! Although I have three options for power, "shore power" when I'm plugged in (like at a powered campsite) as well as a diesel generator, neither of those options are being used. I have a couple of solar panels on the roof, but it's been overcast and has rained for the past 4-5 days (with intermittent sun a few times during the day). Evidently, even with the dreary days, the solar has managed to run the light left on accidently, the large refrigerator/freezer (with our outside temps running in the 90's) as well as keeping the house batteries fully charged! I hadn't planned on testing the solar system, but I guess it passed with flying colors anyway! :thumbsup

johnboy
06-17-2021, 01:05 PM
Fridge is running on propane, I would think. Batteries and solar panels won't keep a fridge cold for very long. BIG draw on batts to run fridge. That's why most are only two way (propane and shore power) and not three way (batts, propane etc.). Had an old camper with a three way fridge and it would destroy a batt in no time as I found out the hard way.

Thumper
06-17-2021, 04:32 PM