PDA

View Full Version : Question for the GH brain trust.....

Big Muddy
07-29-2013, 01:02 PM
Okay, Phole solved my carpet stains on the pontoon, so here's another, more complicated, quershun for you guys:

One of my docks has a real nice live box for keeping fish in, until I'm ready to clean them....it's mounted on chains, which are attached to a hand-crank type winch to lift and lower it outta the water....it's a real pain in the azz for both me and the kids, at least when the fish are biting good on the dock.

Someone gave me a nice little 12 volt 2,000 pound power winch, that came off an atv....it'd sure be nice if I could mount it, in place of the hand winch.

However, I really don't want to keep a battery charged up to run it, when there's a 110 volt socket less than 3 feet away.

What do I need to power up the winch, using 110 volt....transformer, etc., etc. ???

I know a lot about a lot of things, but two things I am positive of:

#1- I am NOT an electrician!!!
#2- That sheeit will kill you!!!

Thank You

Thumper
07-29-2013, 01:14 PM
Heck, that's an easy one Edward. Just do a net search for something like "Power converter ... 120VAC to 12 VDC" or some such. Most will prolly have a plug-in converter and a cigarette lighter type plug on the other end. Just cut the plug off and wire in the lift. Find out what the amperage draw is on the lift first ... you may have to go to a heavier converter. Here's an example:

http://www.amazon.com/Schumacher-PC-6-120AC-Power-Converter/dp/B0012BL8LG/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1375117641&sr=8-3&keywords=120v+to+12v+adapter

I have one here but it's very low amperage ... I used it to use an auto type CB radio in the house as a base station a zillion years ago.

LW
07-29-2013, 03:04 PM
I am not an expert but I know that those winches draw quiet a bit of juice. If I did it, I would put a deep cycle battery on a trickle charger and wire to that. Just my thoughts.

Thumper
07-29-2013, 03:24 PM