PDA

View Full Version : Vortex Optics???

Niner
08-07-2013, 07:10 PM
Youse guys know anything about the Vortex line of riflescopes?

Trav
08-07-2013, 07:36 PM
I know Big Sky has a couple but I don't remember which model.

Big Skyz
08-07-2013, 07:41 PM
Yes, stick with the Viper line and up. The are excellent. Like many things you get what you pay for. The Viper line and up are very good scopes. I have no knowledge of their lower end scopes and have no interest in learning anything about them.

Booger
08-07-2013, 10:18 PM
I've been looking real hard at a Vortex scope. Son's been hired as the archery "lead" man at the Bass Pro shop due to open here in September. He gets some SERIOUS discounts. Planning on a new .308 sniper rifle and scope.

Niner
08-08-2013, 04:14 AM
I have a rifle or two that need scopes attached. I didn't want to sink a bunch of money into another scope that, honestly, will probably not see THAT much use. I have some oldies around here, and WAS considering the Redfield Revolution scope until I read this article.

http://www.opticstalk.com/inexpensive-scope-comparison_topic21176.html

I guess I must be living under a rock or something, because until I saw that article I'd never heard of Vortex. The author gave some pretty high praise for the Diamondback in this "Inexpensive Scope Comparison".

I have about $150 in "Cabelas Points" that I need to burn. I was just about ready to "pull the trigger" and order the Diamondback and add fiddy bucks to the pot. However....now that BS has chimed in with praise for the Viper (which seems to be the next step up in their lineup), I MAY have to reconsider and see if I can scrape up a hunert and fiddy dallas instead. (ALSO.... I AM thinking about buying an AR lower...and money isn't growing on trees these days.)

I'm looking at the 3-9x40 scopes, as that's the "size" that works best in this part of the country....and the hunting/shooting that I do.