PDA

View Full Version : and so it goes...

HideHunter
06-12-2014, 11:16 AM
Thought just because everyone is "bored" I'd chronicle my ongoing fight with an old outboard motor (the motor is winning). First - I might confess - I am not a mechanic. I have never been a mechanic.. and I have no desire to be a mechanic. I know almost as much about motors as I do computers which is just "slightly" more than I know about women.

Couple years ago my dad bought a boat/motor/trailer sight virtually unseen. Early 80s vintage 35 horse Evinrude. It had been sitting for 4 years but the guy put a fresh battery and gas in it and it started right up. He said the only thing he had done to it was put on one new coil. Due to some unforeseen issues the thing sat another couple years. Finally, last year, Dad ask me to take it and run it and considering the wife had just retired - I thought just throw it in the river behind the house. I have a history with motors of all kinds. Truck motors are the only ones that don't seem to hate me with a passion. So, of course, when I tried it - it wouldn't start. Hauled it down to the mechanic. He tore the carburetor down, put fresh plugs in it, one new coil, water pump - hell I don't remember what all. Couple hundred bucks worth. Put it in the river. Ran like champ - for about two days. Started choking and puking and dying. Wouldn't idle at anything below half-throttle.

Hauled it to the mechanic.. I forget what he did - $136 worth. Put it in the river. Ran like a champ - for about two days. Started choking and puking. Wouldn't idle at anything below half-idle. Took it out and stored it for the winter. This spring - before I hauled it back to the mechanic I thought I'd charge the battery and put some fresh gas and Sea Foam through it. Put the muffs on the thing - hit the key - ran rough for a bit - smoothed out and sat there and idled like a champ.