PDA

View Full Version : For Thump!

Hombre
08-04-2014, 01:51 AM
Had a great trip to Tokyo, but more importantly, ate some amazing Sushi. I spent most of the time working, but when I wasn't my local guide (friend) was amazing. The best part about having someone local to the area is you don't spend time in the tourist hot-spots but time in places authentic to the culture.

I had told my friend that I was a fan of Sushi so he set us up a couple of his favorites! One thing that was unique was these "restaurants" had a maximum of 6-7 seats with one Sushi chef.

The first pic really just shows the size of the place.

Pic of the UNI (sea urchin)

Pic of Toro (Fatty Tuna)

Pic of Tako (Octopus)

During the trip I bought some traditional handmade Japanese sushi plates. We went down to the Asian market in Seattle and bought some of our own to try, I'm far from a Sushi expert when it comes to making my own....but fun nonetheless

Trav
08-04-2014, 09:07 AM
What you made would feed Jimbo but nobody else.

Chicken Dinner
08-04-2014, 09:28 AM
I'm down with everything there but the sea urchin. I'm just not fond of the texture on that one.

Captain
08-04-2014, 10:45 AM
What you made would feed Jimbo but nobody else.

Nah, you'd have to throw a bucket of KFC in there to finish him off... ;)

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

Thumper
08-04-2014, 03:57 PM
Wow! I'm jealous! Sounds like a great sidebar to a business trip. I'm with CD though ... I can't do the sea urchin. That's one of the few things on earth I just can't get down very well ... although I've tried. I'm not sure if it varies or not ... I tried it once and never had the balls to try it again. Too many other options. Tako is one of my all-time favorites though. Reminds me of a funny "Thump Story" ... but we JUST walked in the door after returning from Pensacola and I have a couple eBay sales I have to get packaged and to the Post Office by 5:00.

Thumper
08-04-2014, 05:23 PM