PDA

View Full Version : Ummmm .... GULP!

Thumper
09-11-2014, 09:20 AM
Looks like I've been breaking the law for the past 30 years. :hair

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - A Florida Representative wants to repeal a state law that makes it illegal for unmarried couples to live together.

The statute, which dates back to the 1800's, is a second degree misdemeanor that bans couples for cohabitating. Last year 550,000 unmarried Florida couples filled out their census forms indicating they lived together.

Under the current law, an unmarried couple caught living together can face 60 days in jail and a 500 dollar fine.

Rep. Ritch Workman who represents Melbourne says if the law isn't being enforced, then the state should take it off the books. However, members of several faith organizations think the government should be a stronger supporter of marriage.

BarryBobPosthole
09-11-2014, 09:23 AM
I'm sure by almost any definition of the law, you two are common law married by now.

She still carries your nuts around in her purse.

BKB

DeputyDog
09-11-2014, 09:36 AM
That depends on whether or not Florida recognizes common law marriage. Indiana doesn't.

Thumper
09-11-2014, 09:38 AM
Why do you think I left California? Florida doesn't recognize "common law" marriage. :D

(you may be right about the nuts thing ... but at least she ain't carryin' legally!) ;)

Thumper
09-11-2014, 09:39 AM
Dang! Deppity beat me to it ... kind'a-sort'a.

Captain
09-11-2014, 04:59 PM
It's still illegal in NC too.
I would not work an officer that lived with a girlfriend/boyfriend.
It was part of my hiring practice.

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

Thumper
09-11-2014, 05:04 PM
Curmudgeon.

Captain
09-11-2014, 05:33 PM
I don't say if I like the law or agreed with it. I just said it IS law in NC.
How could I swear an officer to uphold all the laws of the state KNOWING he was breaking a law everyday his own self!
If the law is no good then get rid of it and I would not have a conflict.