PDA

View Full Version : Trail Cameras?

HideHunter
11-18-2014, 02:04 PM
Whatchewguys running for trail cams? Been wanting one just to play with for sometime. Got quite a few trails here on the home place and every morning when the dog and I walk - he goes bonkers. I know there's a fox or two.. seen his scat and always coyote tracks. Deer use them to get to the food plot.. So, as I said - just mostly want one to play with.

Just ordered a Covert 40 red. guys tell me they are a pretty good "mid-priced" camera.

Thoughts?

treyball20
11-18-2014, 02:59 PM
I have been running Moultrie cameras on my bear baits for the last 10 yrs. I started with the film ones and now have flash ones. I really like the flash ones so I can tell what color the bear are when they come in. We have so many color phase bears around here that I really like to know the color so I can tell what bear it is. On some cameras the battery life isn't great about 2 weeks, but during spring season it gets pretty cold and snows quite a bit. We do have a cuddleback it is nice, but not that nice for the price difference. I would get one that is super easy to use which all of ours are.

Buckrub
11-18-2014, 03:35 PM
Browning.

Go to trailcampro.com (I think). They rate them, sell them, and warranty them double.

Captain
11-18-2014, 04:02 PM
I've had BUNCHES of them all different kinds. Here's what MY experience has been.
If you put them out and leave them all year like I do you are lucky to get 2 or 3 years out of them. That's has been true for the cheapest to the most expensive alike.
The difference is the cheap ones you toss and get another, the expensive ones you feel like you really need to send them in for repair. And of course they are out of warranty by this time so you end until spending about as much in repairs that a cheap one cost.