PDA

View Full Version : Baltimore did WHAT?

Buckrub
09-09-2015, 11:50 AM
World has gone nuts....

Chicken Dinner
09-09-2015, 12:29 PM
Did I miss something? What did the Baltimorons do now?

Buckrub
09-09-2015, 12:39 PM
Paid the family of Freddy Gray a bazillion bucks.........before the trial!

Chicken Dinner
09-09-2015, 01:01 PM
Oh, that. The timing does seem a bit weird. Something tells me they figured that win or lose at trial a civil jury of his peers would cost them way more than $6.4m. So, settling made business sense. (I'm not a lawyer, but I'm pretty sure the fact that they settled civilly isn't admissible in criminal court.)

BarryBobPosthole
09-09-2015, 01:04 PM
Bucky thinks they should be able to sever your spinal cord and not have to pay anything.

Personally, I think this is a ploy to hose the criminal prosecution of the cops involved while at the same time paying off the family. Ta da. Everybody's happy.

BKB

Buckrub
09-09-2015, 01:26 PM
So apparently Posty also thinks there is a conspiracy at work!

Buckrub
09-09-2015, 01:27 PM
Bucky thinks they should be able to sever your spinal cord and not have to pay anything.

Personally, I think this is a ploy to hose the criminal prosecution of the cops involved while at the same time paying off the family. Ta da. Everybody's happy.

BKB

I do if they are adjudicated innocent.

Chicken Dinner
09-09-2015, 01:33 PM
You may have something there Posthole. They clearly want these cops to be found guilty. My wife is from Baltimore (not the city) so we spend a fair amount of time up there. The issue is going to be if they're found not guilty any way. The resulting riots will make this past spring look like a walk in the park. As it is, the murder rate in Baltimore has exploded since Freddie Gray's death. Some say it's because the cops are doing an unofficial slow down as the city's political leadership has hung them out to dry. How's that for a conspiracy?

LJ3
09-09-2015, 01:38 PM