PDA

View Full Version : Job Satisifaction as Retirement Nears???

Big Skyz
12-01-2015, 05:35 PM
I've been teaching for nearly 25 years now. I have about 4.5 years to go until I'm eligible to retire in this state. For the most part I've really enjoyed my job, and I would say that for at least 15 of those years it was great. However as retirement actually starts to come into focus I find myself really struggling to have a good attitude. A lot has changed in education in the last quarter of a century and frankly I think there is more negative than positive. I've never been a fan of everyone wins/nobody loses mentality, but that is the shift society has put on education. We also give more standardized tests than ever. We have to accept everyone and treat them like that all have the ability succeed in public education. This is includes severely mentally handicapped people, completely physically handicapped individuals, fetal alcohol syndrome kids, kids that were affected by their mothers drug addictions while they were pregnant, pedophiles, mentally disturbed children, and students with zero English communication skills. A student with an IEP (Individual Education Program) can take any class they want whether they are qualified or not. There are far too many students that qualify for IEP's anymore, and you basically can't flunk them out of school without parents and lawyers screaming bloody murder. In the last few years I have been forced to accept several IEP students in my Advanced Art class because they liked the teacher, not because they had any artistic skill. In fact some of them had no artistic skill whatsoever. So they take the class, see how their work stacks up against the rest of the students, and then I have to listen to them whine about how bad they suck at art the whole year. WELL DUH! Not to mention it usually ends up with a meeting with upset parents because little Mr. No-Coordination isn't getting an A in an advanced class, and they want to know why. Th