Thread: Wanna be a millionaire?

Wanna be a millionaire?

Move to California and open a small appliance store selling nothing but electric citrus juicers.

Over the years, I've developed a feel for what sells on eBay, although I'm always looking for an additional "niche" to take advantage of. One of the items I concentrate on is VINTAGE juicers, the ones made in the 60's - 80's mostly. The reason is, they actually had POWER back in the days when things were built to last. Most of todays juicers are cheap, Chinese crap that stall out if you apply much pressure to the reamer (as when juicing a lemon/lime, orange, etc). Ya' burn 'em up, ya' throw them away and get another one. They many times run 10, 15, or 20 watts at most and the vintage stuff runs as high as 100-125. It's a major difference in power. I've been selling 10-15 vintage juicers per month for 15-20 years now and they are PLENTIFUL in most every thrift store you find. When we spend the weekend running the "thrift store circuit", I'll many times return home with as many as 30 GOOD juicers from a single weekend of shopping and they normally run $2-$6. I also snag every one I run across at estate sales (EVERYBODY has a juicer stuck somewhere in the back of their kitchen cabinet). Again, I'm not inferring ALL juicers are eBay gold, I KNOW the brands, styles and models that sell and those that are not worth fooling with. I just ran a count and as of this morning, I have 41 juicers in stock and just shipped two this morning (FedEx) to California.