Nimrod Jr's First Buck
Nimrod
Nimrod, Jr's First Buck
Nimrod (Michigan)

Sunday, Oct.6, 1996, My son, age 12, headed for his ground blind and as I walked to mine I thought about the last time I had hunted with a bow. It was 12 years ago in the same area by our home. I had been hunting with a bow for 2 years and had not drawn on a deer but laerned alot about deer and hunting.When my son was born I had decided to hang up the bow to spend as much time with him as possible.

When he was 8 he went scouting with me and by age 10 he had learned how to read deer sign, track deer and where the best spot would be for a blind according to the sign and cover. He was with me on several gun hunts and was able to experience a bit of buck-fever. For Christmas and his 10th. birthday he got his first bow. He really enjoyed shooting it and I could hardly wait for his first opener.

Aug.'96 He completed his hunter safty course and started to anticipate his first bow season. In Sept. I set his bow, a Darton Scout, at 35 lbs. of draw and he could shoot it 12 times before tiring. He practiced at 5, 10, and 15 yards with tight groups and a smooth draw.

I told him that I would be about 300 yards down the fence line and if he needed me, he could whistle for me and that wouldn't spook the deer. I had been in my ground blind about 30 min. and spotted a doe and 2 fawns at first light. I had been watching them for about 15 min., waiting for the doe to walk into my shooting lane, when I thought I could hear my son trying to whistle! I knew she would step into it any second but I couldn't wait to see what he needed! The doe had no idea that I was there until I grabbed my bow and quiver and started running. I couldn't cover the 300 yards fast enough!!