Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: If I was a Cop Today

If I was a Cop Today

I would walk to my Captains office and resign, effective today. What's happening to our Law Enforcement Officers is beyond tragic and completely 10,000,000% undeserved. I blame stupid people in large numbers, ignorant MF'ers in even larger numbers, and I blame social media.
    If we all threw our problems in a pile, and you saw everyone else's problems-- you'd take yours back.

Senior Member (too much time on their hands) Chicken Dinner's Avatar
    It can't be social media's fault because it's the gun's fault.
    "When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro." Raoul Duke

Senior Member (too much time on their hands) Hombre's Avatar
    I don't think its just social media, although I think that plays a huge role. Look at the news and tell me that 99% of what you see, read, hear isn't negative on both sides. Very little about all the good cops do, very little about community peaceful demonstrations. There is a whole lot about police abuse of power and communities tearing themselves apart. I watched a program yesterday where the were discussing the tension and one of the guests stood up and said to a retired cop " you have to understand you're pushing us to where we're going to shoot back" the cop responded " I 34,000 of my brothers will be shooting at you"....Both are wrong imo. That is the huge divide we have right now nothing is rationale.

On your first point I agree. Cops have the toughest job in the world and get very little credit for the 99.999999999 that they do right. I would hate to be in a position, because all that is going on right now, to have to make a split second call while second guessing because of the scrutiny.